Guidance Notes on Listed Buildings

What is a Listed Building?

The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport is responsible for preparing a List of Buildings which are regarded as having special architectural and or historic interest. The Listing covers three grades of building.

  • Grade 1- Buildings of exceptional interest
  • Grade II*- Buildings of particular interest and more than just special interest
  • Grade II- Buildings of special interest

The Local Authority is responsible for keeping a List of such Buildings for its area under delegated powers from S of S. The List will show the name of the building, its OS Grid Ref No, its Grade, a description of what is listed (but see below) and refer to a Plan.

Continue Reading…